Community Message Boards

Thread: Faux Finish: Ragging On w/plastic bags..

Faux Finish: Ragging On w/plastic bags..

Anyone faux finish by ragging on paint or paint/glaze using plastic grocery bags??

A friend did this in her dining room & it looked awesome..

I am redoing my bedroom & have the base coat on & now it's time f/the fun part...

I've never done it before...but it doesn't seem TOO difficult!
    If anyone can offer tips, I'd appreciate it...

TIA
    Jonie

i did ragging OFF with an old t-shirt.

if you go to home depot or lowes they will have free faux finish instructional booklets in the paint aisle... often next to any faux finishing tools they may carry (like rakes or rag mittens).

this was years ago, but basically i painted my wall all one color, then mixed the paint with a glaze substance. the glaze stuff makes the top layer of paint a little more translucent and also slows the drying time to allow you to work with it. then i painted on the top layer, took an old t-shirt and smooshed it up in a ball and then pressed it against the wall. the fabric removes some of the top layer paint revealing the basecoat color and this creating a nice ragging pattern.

i actually tried using saran wrap (which is similar to plastic bags) instead of the t-shirt and felt it was harder to work with.

good luck!

My Mom and I did this in a bedroom in her house and it turned out great! Actually, we did the opposite - we ragged off. We found it gave a more subtle effect and it was MUCH easier to get it uniform-looking. Ragging on was more difficult to get it uniform becuase you had to be more careful about how much paint you got on the bag and how much pressure you applied (we tried both).