Community Message Boards

Thread: Stuffing sausage casings....

Question Stuffing sausage casings....

I've been making my own bulk sausage for years and am now getting ready to try stuffing it into casings. I have read lots on the Web and have gotten some ideas on how to go about it and what to watch out for in terms of lubing my casing feed tube, going slow, etc.
    I'm interested if anyone here has some hands on experience they can share. I don't have specific questions as I have never done it before so I'm looking for any tips. Tips that have been learned through trial and error that don't generally show up in the instructions for this kind of thing are always the best. Also, is PAM cooking spray a good enough lubricant for the tube the casing goes onto? Or should I use something slipperyer so my casings don't stick and tear?
    Thanks in advance for any help.

I have never made my own link sausage and I'm dying to try. I have the meat grinder from Kitchen Aid and I wonder if it's worth investing in the tube or the casings to make my own. I've watched them being made and I know that it's important that the casings be of high quality and the most important thing is to make sure they are lubricated enough and handled gently so they won't tear. Please tell me if you are making these with your KA or another method and I'd love to have your recipe.

Are you using natural casings or synthetics? Do you have a sausage stuffer or are you doing it by hand? I've never used a lubricant besides water - I rinse out my (natural) casings, slide them onto the stuffing tube, and go for it.